The Commission

The Commission

Chairman and Members of the Appointments Commission

The Commission is an independent, advisory, non-departmental public body. It was established by the Prime Minister in May 2000.

The Commission has seven members, including the Chair. Three members were appointed to represent the main political parties. The other three members and the Chair are non-political and independent of Government.

The members of the Commission are:

  • Lord (Paul)¬†Bew (Chair)
  • Rt Hon and Rt Rev Lord Richard Chartres KCVO
  • Vacant – following resignation of Harry Mount in September 2022
  • The Lord-Lieutenant of Belfast, Mrs Fionnuala Jay-O’Boyle CBE DL
  • Baroness (Ann) Taylor of Bolton (Labour)
  • Baroness (Sheila) Noakes (Conservative)
  • Baroness (Kate) Parminter (Liberal Democrat)

The Commission has two main functions:

  • to recommend individuals for appointment as non-party-political life peers
  • to vet nominations for life peers, including those nominated by the UK political parties, to ensure the highest standards of propriety.