Two new independent Members appointed to the House of Lords Appointments Commission

The Prime Minister has appointed two new independent members to the House of Lords Appointments Commission following an open recruitment process:

Rt Hon Sir Hugh Robertson is Chair of Birmingham International Airport and Chair of the British Olympic Association. A former soldier, who subsequently worked at Schroders, he was a government minister from 2010 - 2015. He has just completed two full terms as Chair of the Sports Honours Committee and is a member of the Gentlemen at Arms in The Royal Household.

Wayne Reynolds is the founder and managing director of Birchwood Knight, an executive search company specialising in corporate affairs leadership roles. He helps a wide range of organisations across the public and private sectors to run fair and thorough recruitment processes which promote diversity, equity and inclusion.

These appointments follow an open competition under the Governance Code for Public Appointments. Both members will commence their new roles from 21 December 2023 for five-year, non-renewable terms.

ENDS

Notes to editors:

- 1. Media enquiries about the House of Lords Appointments Commission should go to Maggie O'Boyle on 07880 740627.
- 2. Further information about the Commission is available on its website: https://lordsappointments.independent.gov.uk
- 3. HOLAC in an independent non-statutory advisory body. Established in 2000, its functions are to recommend individuals for appointment as non-party-political life peers and to vet nominations for life peerages, including those nominated by the UK political parties, to ensure the highest standards of propriety.
- 4. The Commission now comprises five independent members Baroness (Ruth) Deech DBE (Chair), Rt Rev and Rt Hon Lord Richard Chartres KCVO, Dame Fionnuala Jay-O'Boyle DBE, Wayne Reynolds, Rt Hon Sir Hugh Robertson and three members nominated by the political parties: Baroness (Ann) Taylor (Labour), Baroness Sheila Noakes DBE (Conservative) and Baroness Kate Parminter (Liberal Democrat).