House of Lords Appointments Commission

House of Lords Appointment Commission

Main navigation

Chairman and Members of the Appointments Commission

The non-party political members of the Appointments Commission were appointed through open competition following guidelines set down by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

Lord (Ajay) Kakkar (Chairman)

Professor the Lord Kakkar is Professor of Surgery at University College London and Consultant Surgeon University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Lord Kakkar’s research interests focus on the prevention and treatment of venous and arterial thromboembolic disease and cancer associated thrombosis. He was appointed an independent non-party-political peer by the House of Lords Appointments Commission in 2010 and is a member of EU Sub-Committee B. He is Chair of the Health Honours Committee, a member of the General Medical Council and he is a Commissioner of the Royal Hospital in Chelsea.

The non-party political members:

Lord LowLord Low Lord (Colin) Low of Dalston, CBE

Lord Low is the former Chair, now Vice President of RNIB, and President of ICEVI (International Council for Education of People with Visual Impairment). Colin Low (CBE) taught Law and Criminology at Leeds University, before becoming Director of the GLC’s Disability Resource Team. He then carried out research into theories of disability as Senior Research Fellow at City University, and was appointed to the crossbenches of the House of Lords by the Commission in 2006. 

Sir Malcolm Ross Sir Malcolm Ross, GCVO, OBE

After 25 years in the Regular Army (Scots Guards) Malcolm Ross joined The Queen's Household where, for the majority of the next 20 years he served as Comptroller of The Lord Chamberlain's Office. He was then Master of the Household of The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall before retiring in 2008. Since then he has been Lord-Lieutenant of The Stewartry of Kirkcudbrightshire, Prior of Scotland (Chairman of the Order of St John), and Chairman of the Westminster Group plc.

Professor Gillian Peele Professor Gillian PeeleProfessor Gillian Peele Professor Gillian Peele

Gillian is a Fellow and Tutor in Politics at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford. She has published widely on British, American and comparative government. Her current research interests are focussed on the problems associated with the regulation of public ethics in modern states.

The other members were nominated by the main political parties:


Lord Douglas Hurd of Westwell.jpg Lord Garry Hart o Chilton  Lord (Garry) Hart of Chilton (Labour)

Lord Hart is Chancellor of the University of Greenwich and a Labour Peer. Before entering public service, he was a partner in the city law firm Herbert Smith, specialising in planning and administrative law.  Lord Hart is a member of the House of Lords Select Committee on the Merits of Statutory Instruments and the Select Committee on the Constitution. He is also a member of the Development and Strategy Committee of the Victoria and Albert Museum. Past appointments include terms as Chairman of the Almeida Theatre and Deputy Chairman of the Architect Foundation. He has served as a trustee of the British Architectural Library Trust and is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects and a Fellow and former Lay Member of Council at University College London.

Baroness Brenda Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde.jpgLord Michael Howard of Lympne.jpg  The Rt. Hon. Lord (Michael) Howard of Lympne QC (Conservative)  

Lord Howard is a former leader of the Conservative Party, having served as a Member of Parliament in the House of Commons for nearly three decades. Lord Howard served as Secretary of State for Employment, Secretary of State for the Environment and Home Secretary in the Conservative government before taking the front-bench opposition roles of Shadow Chancellor and Shadow Foreign Secretary. He was elected to Parliament in 1983 and served as an MP until April 2010 before being appointed a Conservative Life Peer. Prior to his career in government, Lord Howard practised as a barrister for over 20 years, achieving the rank of Queen’s Counsel in 1982. Since leaving politics, he has pursued a variety of international business interests. He is chairman of Northern Racing Limited, chairman of Luup Limited, deputy chairman of Entree Gold Inc, and is a senior adviser to Hawkpoint Partners Limited.

Lord Navnit Dholakia.jpg Baroness Ros Scott of Needham Market  Baroness (Rosalind) Scott of Needham Market (Liberal Democrat) 

Baroness Scott was created a Life Peer in 2000 after a career in local government in Suffolk.  In addition to holding significant positions within Suffolk County Council, Baroness Scott has been a senior member of the Local Government Association, Member of the Board of the Audit Commission, and a UK delegate to the European Union Committee of the Regions. Since becoming a Member of the House of Lords, Baroness Scott has held front bench positions as the Liberal Democrat spokesman for Local Government and Communities, and for Transport.   Between 2008 and 2010 she held office as President of the Liberal Democrats.