House of Lords Appointments Commission

House of Lords Appointment Commission

Main navigation

19 July 2013


Professor the Lord Kakkar has today been appointed by the Prime Minister as Chairman of the independent House of Lords Appointments Commission following pre-appointment scrutiny by the Political and Constitutional Reform Select Committee.

Professor the Lord Kakkar is Professor of Surgery at University College London and Consultant Surgeon University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Lord Kakkar’s research interests focus on the prevention and treatment of venous and arterial thromboembolic disease and cancer associated thrombosis. He was appointed an independent non-party-political peer by the House of Lords Appointments Commission in 2010 and is a member of EU Sub-Committee B. He is Chair of the Health Honours Committee, a member of the General Medical Council and he is a Commissioner of the Royal Hospital in Chelsea.

Lord Kakkar will take up this appointment on 1st October. The appointment is for a five year non-renewable term. He will be paid on the basis of a non-pensionable salary of £8,000 per annum, with the chair being expected to commit 2 to 3 days per month.

Notes to Editors

1. Media enquiries about the work of the House of Lords Appointments Commission should go to Maggie O'Boyle on 07880 740627. Further information on the Appointments Commission can be obtained from 

2. The House of Lords Appointments Commission is a non-statutory advisory body set up by the Prime Minister to make recommendations for non-party-political peerages. The Commission’s remit is to find people of distinction who will bring authority and expertise to the House of Lords. The Commission recommends individuals on merit and their ability to contribute effectively to the work of the House. The House of Lords Appointments Commission has now recommended a total of 63 non-party-political peerages (since 2000) to the Prime Minister, drawn from well over 4,700 nominations. The Commission also vets nominations for life peers, including those nominated by the UK political parties, for propriety.

3. The membership of the House of Lords Appointments Commission comprises four independent members: Lord (Michael) Jay of Ewelme GCMG (current Chairman), Baroness Jane Campbell, Professor Dame Joan Higgins and Dr John Low and three members nominated by each of the three main political parties: Lord Hart of Chilton (Labour) Rt. Hon. Lord Howard of Lympne QC (Conservative) and Baroness Scott of Needham Market (Liberal Democrat) The Chairman and independent members were selected through open competition.