House of Lords Appointments Commission

House of Lords Appointment Commission

Main navigation

House of Lords Appointments Commission – New Non-Party-Political Peers

Three new non-party-political peers recommended by the House of Lords Appointments Commission were announced today.

The new non-party-political peers are:

They will sit on the crossbenches in the Upper House.

Notes to Editors

  1. Media enquiries about the work of the House of Lords Appointments Commission should be directed to 07880 740627.
  2. Further information on the Appointments Commission can be obtained from
  3. The Appointments Commission is a non-statutory advisory body set up by the Prime Minister to make recommendations for non-party-political peerages. The Commission's remit is to find people of distinction who will bring authority and expertise to the House of Lords. The Commission recommends individuals on merit and their ability to contribute effectively to the work of the House.
  4. The House of Lords Appointments Commission has now recommended a total of 47 non-party-political peerages to the Prime Minister.
  5. The membership of the House of Lords Appointments Commission was announced by the Prime Minister on 4th May 2000. The Chairman, Dennis Stevenson, is a crossbench peer. The Commission comprises two other non-party political members: Angela Sarkis and Felicity Huston. These members of the Commission were selected through open competition. The Commission also includes three members nominated by each of the three main political parties: Baroness Brenda Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde (Labour), Lord Douglas Hurd of Westwell (Conservative) and Lord Navnit Dholakia (Liberal Democrat). Commission members were re-appointed by the Prime Minister for a further 18 months from January 2007.
  6. Dame Elizabeth Manningham-Buller DCB was the Director General of the Security Service (MI5) from 2002 until her retirement in 2007, leading the Service through major change while dealing with a greatly increased terrorist threat. She has spent most of her working life in the Service. She is an authority on security and intelligence matters, especially terrorism.
  7. Sir John Mogg KCMG is the Non-Executive Chairman of OFGEM and the elected Chairman of the EU Energy Regulators. He has spent half of his career in the Civil Service, focusing particularly on industry and European matters. He devoted thirteen years of service to the European Commission, which culminated in his position as Director General for the Internal Market and Financial Services. He is also Chair of the Board of Governors at the University of Brighton.
  8. Sir Robert Smith is Chairman of both The Weir Group and of Scottish and Southern Energy and non-executive Director of Aegon UK, Standard Bank Group and 3i Group. He is also Chancellor of the University of the West of Scotland, Deputy Chairman of the China-Britain Business Council and Chairman of the Smith Group, which helps to tackle the issues of young people not in education, employment or training. He was a founder Trustee and later Chairman of the National Museums of Scotland.